Go Back   Point Man Ministries > PTSD
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-30-2005, 07:04 PM
ReconSGT_OIF

Biggrin "New Guys"...

Well, I am submitting my paperwork for outpost leader here in scenic, flat Oklahoma City, OK. As some of you know, and others can tell by my screen name, I am what some call "new guys". That being, I am around 30 years old and an Iraqi Freedom veteran. What this thread is intended to be about is finding more newer guys to reach. I have met few here, I am a college student and occasionally we vets stand out in the crowd by wearing a PT shirt with the sleeves ripped off, or a pair of desert DCU's made into cutoff shorts, or by affixing patches to our backpacks. It identifies us. What I am wanting to do is find these new guys that are reluctant to talk to the older generation vets for whatever reason it may be. God has really helped me to cope with the symptoms of PTSD on a daily basis and if anyone knew me 1 1/2 years ago, the contrast to today is astronomical...

...and there we have it ladies and gents... Marc has lost his train of thought ONCE AGAIN...

I apologise. I guess what im trying to say is that if anyone needs help with perspective or something let me know. Yeah that sounds about right.
Old 08-04-2005, 05:30 AM
snowyowl

Re: "New Guys"...

Marc, welcome aboard here.
To me you've got the right approach and the heart for the ministry here. Chuck Dean's books are good and you can read them for free on his website.
Old 08-04-2005, 11:26 AM
ILOVEMYVET

Hi Marc,

My name is Heather and my husband Larry served in Desert Storm and Operation Restore Hope. He was Navy 1989-1993. We live in Stillwater and are interested in building our network of Vet and Vet wife friends in the area.

Larry spent 7 weeks in an inpatient treatment program in Topeka, KS for PTSD and got home last weekend. Pointman has been instrumental in his treatment and we would like continue being involved.